For immediate release

ACHE Announces 2014 Publishing Awards

CHICAGO, Jan. 31, 2014—The American College of Healthcare Executives announced the winners of its 2014 Publishing Awards: the James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award and the Dean Conley and Edgar C. Hayhow awards for outstanding articles. The awards, each given annually, will be presented during ACHE's 57th Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago beginning March 24.

Carson F. Dye, FACHE, and Jacque J. Sokolov, MD, are the winners of the **2014 James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award** for *Developing Physician Leaders for Successful Clinical Integration* (Health Administration Press, 2013). In their book, Dye and Sokolov offer an intensified examination of the development of clinically integrated organizations and the significantly expanded physician leadership roles within them. They evaluate multiple clinically integrated organizations, clinical models, business models and techniques to involve physicians to a greater degree—creating a compelling case that clinical integration is key to success in the health reform era.

Dye is an executive search consultant with Witt/Kieffer in Oak Brook, Ill. Sokolov is chairman and CEO of SSB Solutions Inc., a healthcare management, development and investment company in Scottsdale, Ariz.

The winner of the **2014 Dean Conley Award** is John Toussaint, MD, for his article "A Management, Leadership and Board Road Map to Transforming Care for Patients," published in the Spring 2013 issue of *Frontiers of Health Services Management*. Toussaint studied 115 healthcare organizations over the past decade and discovered that a set of standards that could reliably produce zero-defect care for patients was missing from nearly every facility. He offers an alternative approach to the top-down management and leadership structure—management by process—an operating system that engages frontline staff in decisions and imposes standards and processes on the act of managing.

Toussaint is president and CEO of Thedacare Center for Healthcare Value in Appleton, Wis., and the author of On the Mend: Revolutionizing Healthcare to Save Lives and Transform the Industry and Potent Medicine: The Collaborative Cure for Healthcare.

The winners of the **2014 Edgar C. Hayhow Award** are Pauline Vaillancourt Rosenau, PhD, Lincy S. Lal, PharmD, and Christiaan Lako, PhD, for their article "Managing Pay for Performance: Aligning Social Science Research with Budget Predictability." The article appeared in the November/December 2012 issue of the *Journal of Healthcare Management*. In their article, the authors identify obstacles to implementing effective pay-for-performance (P4P) programs, describe the best incentive systems and link P4P design to budgetary considerations. They also recommend an evidence-based P4P approach for practitioners that can be implemented without large upfront investment.

Rosenau is a professor in the Division of Management, Policy and Community Health at the School of Public Health, University of Texas-Health Science Center at Houston. Lal is an instructor in the Division of Management, Policy and Community Health at the School of Public Health, University of Texas-Health Science Center at Houston. Lako is an associate professor of public administration at Radboud University, Nijmegen, Netherlands.

The James A. Hamilton Award is given to the author(s) of a management or healthcare book judged outstanding by ACHE's Book of the Year Award Committee. The award is underwritten by the Alumni Association of the

Graduate Program in Healthcare Administration of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in honor of the late James A. Hamilton, FACHE, the program's founder and course director between 1946 and 1966 and ACHE's 1939-1940 Chairman.

The Dean Conley Award, named for ACHE's executive director from 1942 to 1965, is granted annually to recognize the contributions made to healthcare management literature and to encourage healthcare executives to write and publish articles. This year's winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The Edgar C. Hayhow Award is given to the author(s) of an article judged the best from among those published in the *Journal of Healthcare Management*, ACHE's official journal. Named in honor of ACHE's 14th Chairman, Edgar C. Hayhow, the first practicing administrator to earn a doctoral degree, the award recognizes outstanding contributions to healthcare management literature. The winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

About the American College of Healthcare Executives

The American College of Healthcare Executives is an international professional society of more than 40,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. ACHE offers its prestigious FACHE® credential, signifying board certification in healthcare management. ACHE is established network of more than 80 chapters provides access to networking, education and career development at the local level. In addition, ACHE is known for its magazine, *Healthcare Executive*, and its career development and public policy programs. Through such efforts, ACHE works toward its goal of being the premier professional society for healthcare executives dedicated to improving healthcare delivery. The Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives was established to further advance healthcare management excellence through education and research. The Foundation of ACHE is known for its educational programs—including the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership, which draws more than 4,000 participants—and groundbreaking research. Its publishing division, Health Administration Press, is one of the largest publishers of books and journals on health services management including textbooks for college and university courses.

Contact:

Lisa M. Freund, FACHE
Vice President
Communications and Marketing
American College of Healthcare Executives
One North Franklin, Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 424-9420
Ifreund@ache.org