For Immediate Release

ACHE Announces 2015 Publishing Awards

CHICAGO, Jan. 30, 2015—The American College of Healthcare Executives announced the winners of its 2015 Publishing Awards: the James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award and the Dean Conley and Edgar C. Hayhow awards for outstanding articles. The awards, each given annually, will be presented during ACHE's 58th Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago March 16–19.

David M. Lawrence, MD, is the winner of the 2015 James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award for *Best Care, Best Future: A Guide for Healthcare Leaders* (Second River Healthcare Press, 2014). In his book, Lawrence shares the competencies healthcare leaders need for success, including the ability to share a vision, to support his team's professional growth and to effectively connect with physicians and board members. He shares his belief that leaders should also be fearless and humble. The book reveals sensible strategies leaders can adapt in any healthcare setting. Readers will take away fresh ideas on how to lead their organizations in dramatically changing times, how to improve their leadership and how to successfully take on additional opportunities in an era of change.

Lawrence is the former chairman and CEO of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan Inc. and Kaiser Foundation Hospitals in Oakland, Calif.

The winners of the 2015 Dean Conley Award are David A. Kindig, MD, PhD, and George Isham, MD, for their article "Population Health Improvement: A Community Health Business Model that Engages Partners in all Sectors," published in the Summer 2014 issue of *Frontiers of Health Services Management*. The article discusses population health improvement and the creation of multisectoral community health business partnership models. Topics featured in the article include management changes and approaches medical organizations, businesses and community organizations have used in the past to manage population health and how to reduce healthcare costs while achieving the Triple Aim.

Kindig is professor emeritus and emeritus vice chancellor for health services for the University of Wisconsinâ€"Madison School of Medicine and Public Health and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute in Madison, Wis. Isham is a senior advisor, HealthPartners, and senior fellow, HealthPartners Institute for Education and Research in Bloomington, Minn.

The winners of the 2015 Edgar C. Hayhow Award are Clinton O. Longenecker, PhD, and Paul D. Longenecker, RN, PhD, for their article "Why Hospital Improvement Efforts Fail: A View From the Front Line," published in the March/April 2014 issue of the *Journal of Healthcare Management*. In their research study, the authors sought to help healthcare leaders improve their understanding of the barriers to effective organizational change and improvement from the perspective of frontline leaders. Focus groups took place with 167 leaders from four community hospitals to learn why hospital change efforts have been unlikely to succeed. A content analysis of the focus group is featured in the article, as well as leadership lessons and recommendations based on the findings.

Clinton O. Longenecker, PhD, is a Stranahan professor of leadership and organization excellence, department of management in the College of Business and Innovation at the University of Toledo, Ohio. Paul D. Longenecker,

RN, PhD, is the senior instructor, department of health and sports sciences in the School of Professional Studies at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio.

The James A. Hamilton Award is given to the author(s) of a management or healthcare book judged outstanding by ACHE's Book of the Year Award Committee. The award is underwritten by the Alumni Association of the Graduate Program in Healthcare Administration of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in honor of the late James A. Hamilton, FACHE, the program's founder and course director from 1946 to 1966 and ACHE's 1939–1940 chairman.

The Dean Conley Award, named for ACHE's executive director from 1942–1965, is granted annually to recognize the contributions made to healthcare management literature and to encourage healthcare executives to write and publish articles. This year's winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The Edgar C. Hayhow Award is given to the author(s) of an article judged the best from among those published in the *Journal of Healthcare Management*, ACHE's official journal. Named in honor of ACHE's 14th Chairman, Edgar C. Hayhow, the first practicing administrator to earn a doctoral degree, the award recognizes outstanding contributions to healthcare management literature. The winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

About the American College of Healthcare Executives

The American College of Healthcare Executives is an international professional society of more than 40,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. ACHE offers its prestigious FACHE® credential, signifying board certification in healthcare management. ACHE's established network of 80 chapters provides access to networking, education and career development at the local level. In addition, ACHE is known for its magazine, *Healthcare Executive*, and its career development and public policy programs. Through such efforts, ACHE works toward its goal of being the premier professional society for healthcare executives dedicated to improving healthcare delivery. The Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives was established to further advance healthcare management excellence through education and research. The Foundation of ACHE is known for its educational programs—including the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership, which draws more than 4,000 participants—and groundbreaking research. Its publishing division, Health Administration Press, is one of the largest publishers of books and journals on health services management including textbooks for college and university courses. For more information, visit ache.org.

Contact:

Lisa M. Freund, FACHE
Vice President
Communications and Marketing
American College of Healthcare Executives
One North Franklin, Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 424-9420
Ifreund@ache.org