About ACHE



For immediate release

ACHE Announces 2012 Publishing Awards

CHICAGO, February 1, 2012—The American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) announced the winners of its 2012 Publishing Awards: the James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award, and the Dean Conley Award and Edgar C. Hayhow Award for outstanding articles. The awards, each given annually, will be presented during ACHE’s 55th Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago beginning March 19.

John R. Griffith, LFACHE, and Kenneth R. White, PhD, RN, FACHE, are the winners of the 2012 James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award for Reaching Excellence in Healthcare Management (Health Administration Press). Griffith and White provide easily accessible summaries of best practices in three categories—leadership, clinical operations, and logistic and strategic operations—based on the practices of high-performing healthcare organizations. The authors identify and answer 160 questions, organized by category, encountered by any healthcare organization on its path to excellence.

Griffith is Andrew Pattullo collegiate professor (retired) in the Department of Health Management and Policy of the School of Public Health at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. White is a professor in the Department of Health Administration at Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond.

The winners of the 2012 Dean Conley Award are Chip Caldwell, FACHE; Gregory S. Butler; and Nancy E. Poston, FACHE, for their article "Cost Reduction in Health Systems: Lessons From an Analysis of $200 Million Saved by Top-Performing Organizations," published in the Winter 2010 issue of Frontiers of Health Services Management. In their article, the authors present the results of a study of more than 200 U.S. healthcare organizations in which they found specific, nondelegable senior leader roles—related to techniques for goal setting, use of data, characteristics of organizationwide accountable change models and culture characteristics—among the top-performing healthcare organizations.

Caldwell is chairman, Butler is president and Poston is managing principal, growth strategies, at Caldwell Butler & Associates LLC, based in Chattanooga, Tenn. Caldwell and Butler also serve as faculty for ACHE seminars.

The winners of the 2012 Edgar C. Hayhow Award are Thomas W. Feeley, MD; Heidi W. Albright; Ronald S. Walters, MD; and Thomas W. Burke, MD, for their article "A Method for Defining Value in Healthcare Using Cancer Care as a Model." The article appeared in the November/December 2010 issue of the Journal of Healthcare Management. In their article the authors describe an approach for assessing the value created when treating cancer patients in a multidisciplinary care setting within a comprehensive cancer center.

Authors of the article, all employed by the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, include: Feeley, Helen Shafer Fly Distinguished Professor of Anesthesiology and head of the Division of Anesthesiology; Albright, director of the Institute for Cancer Care Excellence; Walters, associate vice president of Medical Operations, professor of clinical medicine at the Department of Breast Medical Oncology in the Division of Cancer Medicine, and medical director of the Managed Care Programs and Case Management Program; and Burke, executive vice president and physician-in-chief.

The James A. Hamilton Award is given to the author(s) of a management or healthcare book judged outstanding by ACHE’s Book of the Year Committee. The award is underwritten by the Alumni Association of the Graduate Program in Healthcare Administration of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in honor of the late James A. Hamilton, FACHE, the program’s founder and course director between 1946 and 1966 and ACHE’s 1939–1940 Chairman.

The Dean Conley Award, named for ACHE’s executive director from 1942 to 1965, is granted annually to recognize the contributions made to healthcare management literature and to encourage healthcare executives to write and publish articles. This year’s winning article was selected by ACHE’s Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The Edgar C. Hayhow Award is given to the author(s) of an article judged the best from among those published in the Journal of Healthcare Management, ACHE’s official journal. Named in honor of ACHE’s 14th Chairman, Edgar C. Hayhow, the first practicing administrator to earn a doctoral degree, the award recognizes outstanding contributions to healthcare management literature. The winning article was selected by ACHE’s Article of the Year Awards Committee.

About the American College of Healthcare Executives
The American College of Healthcare Executives is an international professional society of more than 40,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. ACHE offers its prestigious FACHE® credential, signifying board certification in healthcare management. ACHE’s established network of more than 80 chapters provides access to networking, education and career development at the local level. In addition, ACHE is known for its magazine, Healthcare Executive, and its career development and public policy programs. Through such efforts, ACHE works toward its goal of being the premier professional society for healthcare executives dedicated to improving healthcare delivery. The Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives was established to further advance healthcare management excellence through education and research. The Foundation of ACHE is known for its educational programs—including the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership, which draws more than 4,500 participants—and groundbreaking research. Its publishing division, Health Administration Press, is one of the largest publishers of books and journals on health services management including textbooks for college and university courses.

For additional information, visit www.ache.org.


Lisa M. Freund
Vice President
Communications and Marketing
American College of Healthcare Executives
One North Franklin, Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 424-9420