About ACHE



For immediate release

ACHE Announces 2013 Publishing Awards

CHICAGO, January 31, 2013—The American College of Healthcare Executives announced the winners of its 2013 Publishing Awards: the James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award and the Dean Conley and Edgar C. Hayhow awards for outstanding articles. The awards, each given annually, will be presented during ACHE’s 56th Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago beginning March 11.

Jim Collins and Morten T. Hansen, PhD, are the winners of the 2013 James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award for Great by Choice: Uncertainty, Chaos, and Luck—Why Some Thrive Despite Them All (Harper Collins Publishers, 2011). Collins and Hansen spent nine years researching and analyzing companies to determine which rose to greatness—beating their industry indexes by a minimum of 10 times over 15 years—in environments characterized by big forces and rapid shifts that leaders could not predict or control. They enumerate the principles for building a truly great enterprise in unpredictable, tumultuous and fast-moving times.

Collins founded a management laboratory in Boulder, Colo., where he now conducts research and consults with executives from the corporate and social sectors. Hansen is a management professor, School of Information, at the University of California, Berkeley, and at INSEAD, Fontainebleau, France.

The winner of the 2013 Dean Conley Award is Leonard M. Fleck, PhD, for his article “'Just' Care: Who Decides?,” published in the January 2012 issue of Health Progress, the official journal of the Catholic Health Association of the United States. In his article, Fleck describes what he calls the “just, caring problem” that is central to health reform: What does it mean to be a “just” and “caring” society when we have only limited resources to meet virtually unlimited healthcare needs? Fleck details the many ethical challenges and difficult choices that compose healthcare rationing.

Fleck is professor of philosophy and medical ethics at the Center for Ethics and Humanities in the Life Sciences, College of Human Medicine, Michigan State University, East Lansing. He is the author of Just Caring: Health Care Rationing and Democratic Deliberation (Oxford University Press, 2009).

The winners of the 2013 Edgar C. Hayhow Award are Denise M. Kennedy, Richard J. Caselli, MD, and Leonard L. Berry, PhD, for their article “A Roadmap for Improving Healthcare Service Quality.” The article appeared in the November/December 2011 issue of the Journal of Healthcare Management. In their article, the authors chronicle the results from a data-driven, comprehensive model for improving service and creating long-term value that was developed and implemented at Mayo Clinic Arizona. This model can be used by other healthcare organizations to improve the patient experience and value-based purchasing scores. Value-based purchasing is a payment system in which quality of care and patient experience measures are used, in part, to determine reimbursement.

At Mayo Clinic, Kennedy is service coordinator and assistant professor of healthcare systems engineering, and Caselli is medical director for service. Berry is distinguished professor of marketing, Mays Business School, Texas A&M University, College Station.

The James A. Hamilton Award is given to the author(s) of a management or healthcare book judged outstanding by ACHE's Book of the Year Award Committee. The award is underwritten by the Alumni Association of the Graduate Program in Healthcare Administration of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in honor of the late James A. Hamilton, FACHE, the program’s founder and course director between 1946 and 1966 and ACHE’s 1939–1940 Chairman.

The Dean Conley Award, named for ACHE's executive director from 1942 to 1965, is granted annually to recognize the contributions made to healthcare management literature and to encourage healthcare executives to write and publish articles. This year’s winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The Edgar C. Hayhow Award is given to the author(s) of an article judged the best from among those published in the Journal of Healthcare Management, ACHE's official journal. Named in honor of ACHE’s 14th Chairman, Edgar C. Hayhow, the first practicing administrator to earn a doctoral degree, the award recognizes outstanding contributions to healthcare management literature. The winning article was selected by ACHE’s Article of the Year Awards Committee.

About the American College of Healthcare Executives

The American College of Healthcare Executives is an international professional society of more than 40,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. ACHE offers its prestigious FACHE® credential, signifying board certification in healthcare management. ACHE's established network of more than 80 chapters provides access to networking, education and career development at the local level. In addition, ACHE is known for its magazine, Healthcare Executive, and its career development and public policy programs. Through such efforts, ACHE works toward its goal of being the premier professional society for healthcare executives dedicated to improving healthcare delivery. The Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives was established to further advance healthcare management excellence through education and research. The Foundation of ACHE is known for its educational programs—including the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership, which draws more than 4,500 participants—and groundbreaking research. Its publishing division, Health Administration Press, is one of the largest publishers of books and journals on health services management including textbooks for college and university courses.

Lisa M. Freund, FACHE
Vice President
Communications and Marketing
American College of Healthcare Executives
One North Franklin, Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 424-9420