Congress Daily

 March 24, 2021


Higher Education Network Award Winners Named

Army-Baylor University and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee were honored today as recipients of ACHE’s 2021 Higher Education Network Awards.

Army-Baylor University is recognized as the graduate program that demonstrated the highest level of ACHE engagement.

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee is recognized for the fourth consecutive year as the undergraduate program that demonstrated the highest level of ACHE engagement.

Both were recognized during today’s Hot Topic session: “American Hospital Association Health Policy & Legislative Update.”

ACHE established the Higher Education Network Awards to recognize participants whose programs have demonstrated a commitment to engagement with ACHE. Please join us in celebrating these programs’ accomplishments.


Top Leader-to-Leader Participants Recognized

Three ACHE members were honored today for recruiting the greatest number of new Members and/or successfully encouraging advancement to Fellow.

The three ACHE members who recruited the greatest number of new Members and/or successfully encouraged advancement to Fellow in 2020 through the Leader-to-Leader Rewards Program are Baljeet S. Sangha, FACHE, COO/deputy director, San Francisco Health Network, San Francisco Department of Public Health (Hospitals, Health Systems and Other Healthcare Related Settings); Leonard H. Friedman, PhD, FACHE, professor/MHA program director, The George Washington University (Academic); and LTC Jason D. Ling, healthcare administrator, U.S. Army (Uniformed Services/Veterans Affairs).

These members were recognized during today’s Hot Topic session: “American Hospital Association Health Policy & Legislative Update.”

ACHE also thanks over 1,138 ACHE members who participated in the 2020 Leader-to-Leader Rewards Program. Their efforts on behalf of ACHE resulted in more than 1,055 individuals joining ACHE and 206 existing Members earning the FACHE® credential.

In the Leader-to-Leader Rewards Program, ACHE members earn a point each time they sponsor a new Member or successfully encourage a Member to advance to Fellow. Points are redeemable for ACHE logo apparel, desk accessories and gift certificates.


Winners of the Stull Student Essay Competition Acknowledged

The American College of Healthcare Executives announced today the winners of its 2021 Richard J. Stull Student Essay Competition in Healthcare Management.

Emily E. Johnson of the University of Minnesota won first place in the graduate division for her essay “Reimagining the Future of Acute Care: Implementing Home Hospital Care Programs to Achieve the Triple Aim and Reduce Health Disparities.” In the undergraduate division, Helen Callie Ball of Texas State University won first place for her essay “Improving Healthcare Cost, Quality, and Access Through Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Applications.”

Johnson and Ball each received $3,000 and a plaque. Their schools each received $1,000. The first-place essays will be published in the Journal of Healthcare Management, ACHE's official journal.

Liam Ferreira of Baylor University took second place in the graduate division for his essay “Somebody Call a DOCTOR! Using Reverse Innovation to Improve Healthcare Management in Response to COVID-19.” In the undergraduate division, the second-place prize went to Christopher B. Weldon of Auburn University for his essay “Reducing Avoidable Readmissions by Implementing New Discharge and Follow-up Care Procedures.” The second-place winner in each division received $2,000 and a plaque.

Casey J. Lawrence of The George Washington University won third place in the graduate division for her essay “A Strategic Framework for Retaining New Graduate Registered Nurses in the Hospital Setting: Going Beyond Nurse Residency Programs.” Dana M. Varughese of Loyola University Chicago won third place in the undergraduate division for her essay “Improving Care for the Workforce Backbone of a Healthcare System.” Both third-place winners received $1,000 and a plaque.

The winners were recognized during the Leon I. Gintzig Commemorative Lecture.

The goal of the Richard J. Stull Student Essay Competition in Healthcare Management is to stimulate and demonstrate the ability of future healthcare executives to identify and describe important issues and developments in their chosen profession. It is open to all ACHE Student Associates enrolled in either a graduate or an undergraduate U.S. or Canadian health administration program that is part of ACHE’s Higher Education Network.

The competition was named in honor of ACHE’s fourth CEO, Richard J. Stull, FACHE, who served from 1965 to 1979.


5 ACHE Members Earn Joint Federal Sector Award

Five ACHE members received an award in recognition of their excellence in federal sector healthcare management. The Joint Federal Sector includes all ACHE members in District 6, which represents the Uniformed Services and Department of Veterans Affairs.

The winners are: Capt Tilli R. Ghale, U.S. Air Force (Diversity and Inclusion Early Careerist); MAJ Christopher Armijo, FACHE, U.S. Army (Diversity and Inclusion Senior Leader); Maj David M. Lutz, FACHE, U.S. Air Force (Military Excellence in Healthcare Management); Kimberly Tansey, DPT, FACHE, Brooke Army Medical Center (Federal Excellence in Healthcare Management); and CAPT Devin J. Morrison, U.S. Navy (Federal Excellence in Healthcare Leadership).

Read more about each winner.

The American College of Healthcare Executives congratulates the winners for their outstanding contributions to the healthcare management field and thanks them for their service to our country.


In Case You Missed It

Did you miss the fireside chat with Anthony S. Fauci, MD, and Deborah J. Bowen, FACHE, CAE? Catch up on this and other on-demand content here for self-reported ACHE Qualified Education credit.






Closing Session: Technology Innovation in the Healthcare Ecosystem

Join Indu Subaiya, MD, co-founder and president, Catalyst @ Health 2.0, tomorrow as she explores the technology innovations developed during the pandemic and the new care delivery models.

During her talk “Technology Innovation in the Healthcare Ecosystem,” Subaiya will focus on the positive outcomes resulting from the rapid infusion of technology into patient care.

As we wrap up this year’s Congress on Healthcare Leadership, we will share what we have learned from all of you in the field and challenge you to continue to reimagine leadership, solutions and healthcare in your communities.

Add to your agenda. Please be sure to complete the session evaluation available in the virtual platform.