About ACHE



Edgar C. Hayhow Award

ACHE grants the Edgar C. Hayhow Award annually to the author(s) of an article judged the best from among those published in the Journal of Healthcare Management, ACHE's official journal. Named in honor of ACHE's 14th Chairman, the Edgar C. Hayhow Award was established in 1960 to recognize outstanding contributions to healthcare management literature. Award winners are selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The 2015 winners have been selected: Clinton O. Longenecker, PhD, and Paul D. Longenecker, RN, PhD, for their article “Why Hospital Improvement Efforts Fail: A View From the Front Line,” published in the March/April 2014 issue of the Journal of Healthcare Management.

Recommended Reading

The Article of the Year Awards Committee recommends two additional articles: “Governing Board, C-Suite, and Clinical Management Perceptions of Quality and Safety Structures, Processes, and Priorities in U.S. Hospitals,” by Thomas E. Vaughn, PhD; Mark Koepke, JD; Samuel Levey, PhD, LFACHE; Eugene Kroch, PhD; Christopher Hatcher, Christopher Tompkins, PhD; and Jure Baloh, from the March/April 2014 issue of Journal of Healthcare Management; and “A Longitudinal Study of Clinical Peer Review's Impact on Quality and Safety in U.S. Hospitals,” by Marc T. Edwards, MD, from the September/October 2013 issue of Journal of Healthcare Management.

View Edgar C. Hayhow Award winners.

For additional information, please contact Gerard J. Berish, CAE, regional director, Division of Regional Services, at (312) 424-9323 or gberish@ache.org.